Head of Research

Corrado Priami

President and CEO

+39 0464 80 8807

priami@cosbi.eu


Systems nutrition

Our work concentrates on the molecular link between diet and health, with particular focus on diabetes and obesity. The main techniques that we employ are high throughput data analysis, network analysis and simulation, with the goal of integrating the three. As diabetes and obesity are multifactorial diseases with complex molecular pathology, we work with a range of biological data types, including genotyping, transcriptomic, and multivariate biomarkers. With integrated analysis of these data types, we aim to identify susceptibility markers of disease and networks of interacting genes/proteins that co-vary with health status and response to dietary intervention. Overlapping projects with systems pharmacology are an added value of our strategy, as they allow us to explicitly analyze disease onset/progression and response to clinical intervention in the context of genotype*environment (e.g., diet) interaction.

Melissa Morine

Principal Investigator

+39 0464 80 8832

morine@cosbi.eu

Sébastien Lacroix

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8835

lacroix@cosbi.eu

Alice Matone

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8835

matone@cosbi.eu

Paurush Praveen

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8835

praveen@cosbi.eu

Marie-Pier Scott-Boyer

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8835

scottboyer@cosbi.eu

Tenzin Nyima

PhD Student

+39 0464 80 8806

nyima@cosbi.eu


Systems pharmacology

Our work concentrates on Alzheimer's and other neurodegenerative diseases. The application of high throughput data analysis, network analysis and simulation with the goals of integrating the three. We aim to clarify the basic mechanisms of the diseases and how to control or influence their progression and link preclinical and clinical studies of drugs and diseases. Overlapping projects with molecular nutrition are an added value of our strategy, as it allows us to explicitly analyze the complex effects of environment (e.g., diet) and genotype*environment interactions on neurodegenerative diseases.

Laura Caberlotto

Principal Investigator

+39 0464 80 8823

caberlotto@cosbi.eu

Mario Lauria

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8841

lauria@cosbi.eu


Network identification and analysis

We develop and apply network analysis for identifying key genes representing potential gatekeepers linking nutrition to disease. Network communities significantly enriched in proteins responding to drug pharmacology can highlight unexpected mechanisms of functioning, beyond the boundaries of canonical metabolic and regulatory pathways. Similarly, network analysis can shed light on the forces driving the evolution of food webs, focusing on the connection between ecosystem structure and dynamics.

Marco Scotti

Principal Investigator

+39 0464 80 8833

scotti@cosbi.eu

Ferenc Jordan

Principal Investigator

+39 0464 80 8840

jordan@cosbi.eu

Phuong Nguyen

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8844

nguyen@cosbi.eu


Network simulation

We develop and apply simulation-based techniques that start from the list of components of the system, their (partial) wiring and their partial quantitative characterization. Signaling and metabolic networks are the main networks we model, simulate and analyze, linked to molecular nutrition and systems pharmacology. Once validated, models can be used as predictive tools by perturbing them with addition/deletion/modification of components.

Ozan Kahramanogullari

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8842

ozan@cosbi.eu

Rosario Lombardo

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8818

lombardo@cosbi.eu

Luca Marchetti

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8818

marchetti@cosbi.eu

Petros Moyseos

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8828

moyseos@cosbi.eu

Isar Nassiri

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8818

nassiri@cosbi.eu

Simone Rizzetto

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8818

rizzetto@cosbi.eu

Thanh Vo

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8828

vo@cosbi.eu

Ihsan Younes

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8828

younes@cosbi.eu

Federico Reali

Researcher

+39 0464 80 8843

reali@cosbi.eu


.